IDCommitteeCodePositionFromDateThruDateRankTitlePositionCodeFullNameEmailCompanyPhone
9104838CORDILLERANC5/16/20235/31/20241ChairCDr. JAY Chapmanjbchapmanv@utep.eduUniversity of Texas at El Paso(520) 429-9713
9077828CORDILLERANPC5/19/20235/31/20246Past ChairPCScott E.K. Bennettsekbennett@usgs.govU.S. Geological Survey 
1043940CORDILLERANS7/1/20176/30/202516SecretarySDr. Calvin G. Barnescal.barnes@ttu.eduTexas Tech 
9066839NORTH-CENTRALC4/21/20234/20/20241ChairCTara A. Kneeshawkneeshta@gvsu.eduGrand Valley State University(616) 331-8996
9086603NORTH-CENTRALPC5/16/20235/15/20246Past ChairPCDr. Daniel M. SturmerDaniel.Sturmer@uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati Geosciences(513) 556-5705
1694000NORTH-CENTRALVC5/16/20225/30/202312Vice-ChairVCDr. Virginia L. Petersonpetersvi@gvsu.eduGrand Valley State University(616) 331-2811
9077957NORTH-CENTRALS4/20/20215/1/202516SecretarySDr. Tandis S. Bidgolitandis.bidgoli@csusb.eduCal State - San Bernardino 
9118109NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20206/1/2023126Member-at-LargeMLMelinda Catherine Higleymchigley@calvin.eduCalvin University(616) 526-6374
2004214NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20216/1/2024126Member-at-LargeMLWilliam S. Elliott, Jr.wselliott@usi.eduUniv Southern Indiana, Dept Geology & Physics(812) 228-5053
2001605NORTHEASTERNC7/1/20226/30/20231ChairCDr. Howell Bosbyshellhbosbyshell@wcupa.eduWest Chester University(610) 436-2805
9068885NORTHEASTERNVC7/1/20226/30/202312Vice-ChairVCDr. Nancy A. Pricenapricegeo@gmail.comCenter for Earth & Environmental Scien(240) 542-8508
1954624NORTHEASTERNS-T3/21/20136/30/202617Secretary-TreasurerS-TDr. David P. West, Jr.dwest@middlebury.eduMiddlebury College(802) 443-3476
2002643NORTHEASTERNML7/1/20226/30/2024126Member-at-LargeMLMs. Michelle J. Markleymmarkley@mtholyoke.eduMount Holyoke College Geology & Geogra 
9116526ROCKY_MTNC7/30/20227/29/20231ChairCDr. Elizabeth Balgordelizabethbalgord@weber.eduWeber State University, Earth & Environmental Sciences(801) 626-6225
9050462ROCKY_MTNPC7/30/20227/29/20236Past ChairPCDr. Benjamin J. C. Laabsbenjamin.laabs@ndsu.eduNorth Dakota State University(701) 231-6197
9100751ROCKY_MTNCE7/30/20227/29/202311Chair-electCEDr. David M. Pearsonpeardavi@isu.eduIdaho State University(208) 282-3486
2009992ROCKY_MTNVC7/30/20227/29/202312Vice-ChairVCCal Rulemancruleman@usgs.govU.S. Geological Survey(303) 236-7804
9127396ROCKY_MTNS7/30/20227/29/202616SecretarySShannon Mahanfiftyisntold@gmail.comUS Geological Survey(303) 236-7928
9301770ROCKY_MTNSR7/30/20227/29/202381Student RepresentativeSRLaura Wilcocklaurawilcock@mail.weber.edu (209) 535-5872
9082735ROCKY_MTNML7/30/20227/29/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Alexis Katherine Aultalexis.ault@usu.eduUtah State University(757) 784-6452
2006222SOUTH-CENTRALC4/1/20226/30/20231ChairCDr. Todd HalihanTODD.HALIHAN@OKSTATE.EDUOklahoma State University(405) 744-6358
9309186SOUTH-CENTRALVC4/1/20226/30/202312Vice-ChairVCProf. Mohamed Alyaly@uark.eduDepartment of Geosciences, Geosciences(479) 575-3185
9082526SOUTH-CENTRALS10/13/202110/21/202516SecretarySMichael T. DeAngelismtdeangelis@ualr.eduUniversity of Arkansas at Little Rock(501) 916-5761
9249566SOUTH-CENTRALML4/30/20196/30/2023126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Antonio Cardona benavidesacardona@uaslp.mxUniversidad Autonoma San Luis Potosi, Earth Science(444) 826-2330
1990011SOUTH-CENTRALML10/1/20184/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLDr. Wendi J. W. Williamswwilliam@southtexascollege.eduSouth Texas College(956) 872-8319
9309186SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20224/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLProf. Mohamed Alyaly@uark.eduDepartment of Geosciences, Geosciences(479) 575-3185
1825403SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20225/30/2026126Member-at-LargeMLProf. Jay B. Sims, IIIwmjaysims@gmail.com314 N Walnut St.(501) 413-9363
1089419SOUTH-CENTRALML4/1/20215/1/2025126Member-at-LargeMLStephen K. Bosssboss@uark.eduUniversity of Arkansas(479) 409-9857
9055777SOUTHEASTERNC3/22/20234/22/20241ChairCBill Hameshameswe@auburn.eduAuburn University, Dept of Geology(334) 844-4890
9129125SOUTHEASTERNPC3/22/20234/22/20246Past ChairPCKatherine Lucianolucianok@dnr.sc.govSouth Carolina Geological Survey843-953-6843
9131752SOUTHEASTERNCE3/22/20234/22/202411Chair-electCEDr. Rebecca Freemanrebecca.freeman@uky.eduUniversity of Kentucky Earth & Environ(859) 257-6376
2006661SOUTHEASTERNVC3/22/20234/22/202412Vice-ChairVCMr. Blair R. Tormeybtormey@wcu.eduWestern Carolina University(828) 227-2536
9129125SOUTHEASTERNS-T3/22/20234/22/202417Secretary-TreasurerS-TKatherine Lucianolucianok@dnr.sc.govSouth Carolina Geological Survey843-953-6843

About the Rocky Mountain Section

Rocky Mountain Section

The Rocky Mountain Section has been a thriving part of The Geological Society of America since 1948. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2021-2022 Section Officers

Terms: Chair, Past Chair, Chair-elect, and Vice-Chair—1 year; Secretary—4 years


 

Management Board

Includes the section officers and one voting member appointed by the chair.



GPPC Representatives

Sylvia Nicovich
Bureau of Reclamation
(805) 458-2528
snicovich@bor.gov


GSA Councilors

Ed Harvey
Marjorie Chan


 

Membership

4,124 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2022.

Region

In the United States:

The states of Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming, and that part of Arizona north of 35 degrees North Latitude.

In Canada:

The provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

In Mexico:

The state of Chihuahua.