GSA home

Log In | GSA Community | GSA Store | Join GSA | Donate | Contact Us

GSA home

| GSA Community | GSA Store | Donate | Contact Us

About GSA

Career Resources

Connected Community

Divisions &
Associated Societies

Education & Outreach

GSA Foundation

GSA International




Public Policy



Find Your Science at GSA
Officers Student Grants
Committees Bylaws

Southeastern Section

2014–2015 Section Officers

Officers (3 Members)
Terms: Chair–1 year, Vice-Chair–1 year, Secretary-Treasurer–1 year


Blair R. Tormey
Western Carolina University
Dept. of Geosciences & Natural Resources
Cullowhee, NC 28723, USA



Jonathan W. Mies
Univ. of Tennessee - Chattanooga
Dept. of Physics Geology & Astronomy
615 McCallie Ave.
Chattanooga, TN 37403-2598 , USA


elected annually

Donald W. Neal
East Carolina University
Dept. of Geological Sciences
Greenville, NC 27858-4353, USA

+1-252-328-4392 (direct)
+1-252-328-6360 (dept)
+1-252-328-4391 (fax)

Management Board

Chair Elect:

Elizabeth A. McClellan
Radford University
Dept. of Geology
PO Box 6939, Reed Hall 101
Radford, VA 24142 , USA


Past Chair:

Richard A. Laws
University of NC - Wilmington
Dept. of Geography and Geology
601 S. College Rd.
Wilmington, NC 28403-3201, USA



Robert J. Tracy
Virginia Tech Geosciences
4044 Derring Hall (0420).
Blacksburg, VA 24061, USA


GSA Councilors:

Janet S. Herman, Robert J. Tracy, Harry (Hap) McSween

The management board shall be composed of the officers, the officers-elect, and the past officers of the section. Council member(s) residing within the Section boundaries shall be ex officio members. The chairs of the section committees (currently education, geology and public policy, liaison, and student support) shall be voting ex officio members. The vice-chair and secretary-treasurer-elect shall become members of the management board one week prior to the annual meeting start date. The chair-elect shall become a voting member of the management board one year prior to taking the office of chair, and the retiring officers shall continue as members of the management board until one week after the beginning of the next year's annual meeting.
Region: In the United States, the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico; and in Mexico, the states of Campeche, Quintana Roo, and Yucatan.

(Revised 21 October 1997 by Council to transfer Louisiana to the South-Central Section. Revised 24 April 2004 by Council to add Puerto Rico to the Southeastern Section.
Revised by Council on 4 October 2008 to add the specified states of Mexico to the Southeastern Section.)

3,016 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2013.