GSA home

Log In | GSA Community | GSA Store | Join GSA | Donate | Contact Us

GSA home

| GSA Community | GSA Store | Donate | Contact Us

About GSA

Career Resources

Connected Community

Divisions &
Associated Societies

Education & Outreach

GSA Foundation

GSA International




Public Policy



Find Your Science at GSA
SE Home Officers Student Grants
Saprolite Committees Bylaws

Southeastern Section

The Southeastern Section was established in December 1947, but did not hold its first annual meeting until 1952. The GSA Foundation generously supports the activities of the section and we ask that you, in turn, support the GSA Foundation. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

Southeastern Section


In the United States:

Section Meeting

2015 Southeastern Section Meeting


1920 March 2015
Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

[ web site | register ]
[ submit abstracts ]

Past Meetings

2014 - Blacksburg, Virgina
2013 - San Juan, Puerto Rico
2012 - Asheville, North Carolina
2011 - Wilmington, North Carolina
2010 - Baltimore, Maryland
2009 - Dallas, Texas
2008 - Charlotte, North Carolina

The states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

In Mexico:

The states of Campeche, Quintana Roo, and Yucatán.

*Note: Section boundaries were revised 24 April 2004 by GSA Council to add Puerto Rico. The affiliation of the state of Louisiana changed from the Southeastern Section to the South-Central Section in 1997.


The SE Section has (or has representatives on) the following committees:
Student Support Committee, Program Committee, Nominating Committee, Education Committee, Geology and Public Policy Committee, Campus Liaison Committee


You have regional public policy issues?

Join GSA PolicyComNet, a new online geoscience-based networking tool to assist GSA members in planning communications with public policy officials on pending regional, state, and local decisions.