GSA home

Log In | GSA Community | GSA Store | Join GSA | Donate | Contact Us

GSA home

| GSA Community | GSA Store | Donate | Contact Us

About GSA

Career Resources

Connected Community

Divisions &
Associated Societies

Education & Outreach

GSA Foundation

GSA International




Public Policy



Find Your Science at GSA
RM Home
Travel & Research Grants
Rocky Mountain Section

About the Rocky Mountain Section

The Rocky Mountain Section has been a thriving part of The Geological Society of America since 1948. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2014–2015 Section Officers

Terms: Chair—1 year, Vice-Chair—1 year, Secretary—4 years


Kate Zeigler
Dept. of Natural Resources
New Mexico Highlands University
PO Box 9000
Las Vegas, NM 87701, USA



Ranie M. Lynds
Wyoming State Geological Survey

PO Box 1347
Laramie, WY 82073, USA



Erin Campbell-Stone
University of Wyoming
Dept. of Geology & Geophysics
1000 E. University Ave
Laramie, WY, 82070, USA


Second year of
initial 4-year term 

Kevin H. Mahan
University of Colorado-Boulder.
Geological Sciences
Campus Box 399
2200 Colorado Ave.
Boulder, CO, 80309, USA


Management Board (5 Members)

Includes the section officers, the immediate past chair, and one voting member appointed by the chair.

Past Chair:

Emmett Evanoff
University of Northern Colorado
Campus Box 100
501 20th Street
Greeley, CO 80639, USA



Jason R. Moore
Honors College, MSC 06 3890
1 University of New Mexico
Student Health Building
Albuquerque, NM 87131, USA


GSA Councilor:

Neil Fishman

Includes: In the United States, that part of Arizona north of lat 35°N, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming; in Canada, the Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan; and in Mexico, the state of Chihuahua.

3,718 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2013.


The Rocky Mountain Section thanks the GSA Foundation for their support of our Student Travel and Undergraduate Research Grants Programs.

Click here for more info on:


In the United States:

The states of Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming, and that part of Arizona north of 35 degrees North Latitude.

In Canada:

The provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

In Mexico:

The state of Chihuahua.