GSA home

Log In | GSA Community | GSA Store | Join GSA | Donate | Contact Us

GSA home

| GSA Community | GSA Store | Donate | Contact Us

About GSA

Career Resources

Connected Community

Divisions &
Associated Societies

Education & Outreach

GSA Foundation

GSA International




Public Policy



Find Your Science at GSA
Officers Meetings NC Home
Bylaws Student Grants & Awards

North-Central Section

Section Officers

3 Members - Terms: Chair—1 year; Vice-Chair—1 year; Secretary—4 years

Chair and
Local Committee

Jean M. Bahr
University of Wisconsin - Madison
Dept. of Geoscience
1215 W Dayton St
Madison, WI 53706, USA

+1-608-262-5513 (Office)
+1-608-262-0693 (Fax)

Vice-Chair and
Local Committee

Carol M. McCartney
Outreach Manager
Wisconsin Geological & Natural History Survey
3817 Mineral Point Rd
Madison, WI 53705-5100, USA


Second year of
first 4-year term

Nancy S. Williams
Missouri State University
Department of Geology, Geography & Planning
901 S National Avenue
Springfield, MO 65897, USA


Management Board
Includes the officers of the Section, the immediate past chair, the immediate past vice-chair, the past secretary for the first year after his term(s) of office end(s), any member of the GSA Council who is also a voting member of the Section, and three voting members of the Section elected at large.

Past Chair:

R.M. (Matt) Joeckel
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
School of Natural Resources
Room 615 Hardin Hall
3310 Holdrege
Lincoln, NE 68583-0996, USA

+1-402-472-7520 (Office)
+1-402-472-2946 (Fax)

Past Vice-Chair:

Paul R. Hanson
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
School of Natural Resources
Room 611 Hardin Hall
3310 Holdrege
Lincoln, NE 68583-0996, USA

+1-402-472-7762 (Office)
+1-402-472-2946 (Fax)

Members- at Large:

Paul R. Hanson, Michael Phillips, Ben Dattilo

GSA Councilor:

William W. Simpkins

Includes: In the United States, the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, Wisconsin; and in Canada, the provinces of Manitoba and that portion of the Province of Ontario west of the 89th meridian.

3,330 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2013.