About the Rocky Mountain Section

Rocky Mountain Section

The Rocky Mountain Section has been a thriving part of The Geological Society of America since 1948. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.


2018–2019 Section Officers

Officers (3 Members)

Terms: Chair—1 year, Vice-Chair—1 year, Secretary—4 years


Thomas Williams
University of Idaho


David Marchetti
Western State Colorado University


Harland Goldstein
U.S. Geological Survey, Denver CO

Second year of 4-year term 

Shannon Mahan
US Geological Survey

Management Board (5 Members)

Includes the section officers, the immediate past chair, and one voting member appointed by the chair.

Past Chair:

Janet Dewey
University of Wyoming


Alexis Ault
Utah State University

GPPC Representative:

Art Snoke
University of Wyoming

GSA Councilors:

Ed Harvey, Marjorie Chan

Student Advisory
Council Representative:

Olivia Terry
University of Wyoming

Membership 3,930 voting members of the Section as of December 2018.


In the United States:

The states of Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming, and that part of Arizona north of 35 degrees North Latitude.

In Canada:

The provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

In Mexico:

The state of Chihuahua.