IDCommitteeCodePositionFromDateThruDateRankTitlePositionCodeFullNameEmailCompanyPhone
1516035CORDILLERANC5/14/20195/14/20201ChairCJeffrey Leejeff@geology.cwu.eduCentral Washington University, Department of Geological Sciences(509) 963-2801
1953140CORDILLERANPC5/14/20195/14/20206Past ChairPCMichael L. Wellsmichael.wells@unlv.eduUniversity of Nevada, Las vegas(858) 243-4468
9081510CORDILLERANVC5/14/20195/14/202012Vice-ChairVCRobinson Cecilrobinson.cecil@csun.eduCalifornia State University Northridge(818) 677-7009
1043940CORDILLERANS7/1/20176/30/202116SecretarySCalvin Glenn Barnescal.barnes@ttu.edu2815 23rd St(806) 928-1218
2010576NORTH-CENTRALC6/1/20196/1/20201ChairCAmy E. Myrboamyrbo@umn.eduLacCore, CSDCO; University of Minnesota(612) 624-3329
1650030NORTH-CENTRALPC6/1/20196/1/20206Past ChairPCTina M. Nieminiemit@umkc.eduUniversity of Missouri - Kansas City (816) 235-5342
1449342NORTH-CENTRALVC6/1/20196/1/202012Vice-ChairVCHarry M. Joljolhm@uwec.eduUniversity of Wisconsin - Eau Claire(715) 836-3472
9068110NORTH-CENTRALVC6/1/20196/1/202012Vice-ChairVCKaren B. Grankgran@d.umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota Duluth(218) 726-7406
9083335NORTH-CENTRALPVC6/1/20196/1/202013Past Vice-ChairPVCJejung Leeleej@umkc.eduUniversity of Missouri - Kansas City(816) 235-6495
1968825NORTH-CENTRALS3/21/20175/1/202116SecretarySNancy S. Williamsgsanorthcentralsection@gmail.comMissouri State University(417) 496-2187
9184275NORTH-CENTRALSR5/16/20194/19/202181Student RepresentativeSRCollin Rolandcjroland@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin - Madison(214) 850-8391
9149789NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20186/1/2021126Member-at-LargeMLLucas Zoetlzoet@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison Geoscience(608) 262-1921
1981225NORTH-CENTRALML6/1/20196/1/2021126Member-at-LargeMLMichael B. Wolfmichaelwolf@augustana.eduAugustana College Geology Dept(309) 794-7304
1194722NORTH-CENTRALML3/21/20175/19/2020126Member-at-LargeMLB. Brandon Currybcurry@illinois.eduUniv of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign(217) 359-1026
1101620NORTHEASTERNC3/18/20193/21/20201ChairCJulie Brigham-Grettejuliebg@geo.umass.eduUniversity of Massachusetts(413) 577-2270
1901692NORTHEASTERNPC3/19/20193/19/20206Past ChairPCPaul B. Tomascaktomascak@oswego.eduSUNY Oswego CLAS Dean(315) 312-2285
1954624NORTHEASTERNS-T3/21/20134/1/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TDavid P. West, Jr.dwest@middlebury.edu Middlebury College, Geology Department(802) 443-3476
2012082NORTHEASTERNML3/18/20183/21/2020126Member-at-LargeMLSean R. Cornellsrcornell@ship.eduShippensburg University Dept of Geography & Earth Science(717) 477-1310
9050769ROCKY_MTNC4/12/20195/4/20201ChairCDavid W. Marchettidmarchetti@western.eduWestern State Colorado University(970) 943-2367
9065189ROCKY_MTNPC4/12/20195/4/20206Past ChairPCThomas J. Williamstomw@uidaho.eduUniversity of Idaho, Geological Sciences(208) 885-6656
9114362ROCKY_MTNCE4/12/20195/4/202011Chair-electCESarah Wheeler Keenansarah.keenan@sdsmt.eduSouth Dakota School of Mines & Tech., Geology and Geological Engineering(605) 394-2461
2011274ROCKY_MTNVC6/1/20185/4/202012Vice-ChairVCHarland L. Goldsteinhgoldstein@usgs.govU.S. Geological Survey(303) 236-5506
9127396ROCKY_MTNS7/1/20176/30/202016SecretarySShannon Mahansmahan@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (303) 236-7928
9169954ROCKY_MTNSR4/12/20195/4/202081Student RepresentativeSRSylvia Rose Nicovichsylvia.nicovich@msu.montana.eduMontana State University(805) 458-2528
9213948ROCKY_MTNSR4/12/20195/4/202081Student RepresentativeSRMichael Geoffrey FrothinghamMichael.Frothingham@colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder  
9082735ROCKY_MTNML6/1/20185/4/2020126Member-at-LargeMLAlexis K. Aultalexis.ault@usu.eduUtah State University Department of Geology(757) 784-6452
9107420SOUTH-CENTRALCOCH3/28/20193/10/20202Co-ChairCOCHArne Max Erich Winguthawinguth@uta.eduUniversity of Texas at Arlington (817) 272-2977
9134609SOUTH-CENTRALCOCH3/28/20193/10/20202Co-ChairCOCHOmar R. HarveyOmar.Harvey@usm.eduTexas Christian University(601) 266-4529
2012242SOUTH-CENTRALPC3/28/20193/10/20206Past ChairPCMatthew F. Kirkmatthew.f.kirk@gmail.com2928 Hickory Ct(505) 977-6628
1825403SOUTH-CENTRALS-T3/20/20128/20/201917Secretary-TreasurerS-TWm Jay Sims, IIIwmjaysims@gmail.com314 WALNUT ST5019363
9265384SOUTH-CENTRALSR3/28/20193/10/202081Student RepresentativeSRJordon Patrick Masseyjordmas@ostatemail.okstate.eduOklahoma State University BPSoG(269) 364-7623
1089419SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20143/19/2020126Member-at-LargeMLStephen K. Boss, Ph.D.sboss@uark.eduUniv Arkansas - Fayetteville Dept of Geosciences(479) 575-7134
2006222SOUTH-CENTRALML3/18/20143/18/2020126Member-at-LargeMLTodd Halihantodd.halihan@okstate.eduOklahoma State University School of Geology(405) 744-9248
9068219SOUTHEASTERNC3/30/20193/21/20201ChairCDavid B. Spearsdavid.spears@dmme.virginia.govDivision of Geology and Mineral Resources(434) 951-6350
9201874SOUTHEASTERNPC3/30/20193/21/20206Past ChairPCVenkataraman Lakshmivlakshmi@virginia.eduUniversity of Virginia(434) 982-2052
9152396SOUTHEASTERNCE3/30/20193/21/202011Chair-electCEColin D. Sumrallcsumrall@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee Earth and Planetary Sciences(865) 974-0400
9054599SOUTHEASTERNVC3/30/20193/21/202012Vice-ChairVCArthur James Merschatamerschat@usgs.govUSGS(865) 207-2857
9083395SOUTHEASTERNPVC3/30/20193/21/202013Past Vice-ChairPVCScott HarrisHarrisS@cofc.eduCollege of Charleston(843) 953-0864
2006661SOUTHEASTERNS-T3/30/20164/1/202217Secretary-TreasurerS-TBlair R. Tormeybtormey@wcu.eduWestern Carolina University(828) 227-2536
9181791SOUTHEASTERNSR4/14/20183/21/202081Student RepresentativeSRAlexandra Nagurneynagurney@vt.eduVirginia Tech Department of Geosciences 

About the North-Central Section

North-Central Section

In 1966, the North-Central Section was established by the Council of the Geological Society of America to expand section coverage for all of the United States and Canada. Please explore the links at right to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2019-2020 Section Officers

Terms: Chair—1 year; Vice-Chair—1 year; Secretary—4 years


 

Management Board

Includes the officers of the Section, the immediate past chair, the immediate past vice-chair, the past secretary for the first year after his or her term(s) of office end(s), any member of the GSA Council who is also a voting member of the Section, and three voting members of the Section elected at large.


 

Membership

3,320 voting members of the Section as of December 2018.

Region

In the United States:

The states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, and Wisconsin.

In Canada:

The Province of Manitoba, and the western portion of the Province of Ontario (west of the 89th meridian).