GSA home

join | donate | contact us

125 Years

125th Anniversary

About GSA

Divisions &
Associated Societies

Education & Outreach

GSA Foundation




Public Policy


Resources & Jobs


Find Your Science at GSA
Officers Meetings Travel Grants Home
ByLaws Best Papers Field Trip Grants Newsletter

Cordilleran Section

Officers for 2012-2013

Officers (3 members)
Terms:  Chair—1 year;   Vice-Chair— 1 year;   Secretary—4 years


Jonathan S. Miller
San Jose State University
Department of Geology
One Washington Square
San Jose, CA 95192-0102, USA



Paul J. Umhoefer
School of Earth Sciences and
Environmental Sustainability
123 Frier Hall
602 S. Humpreys
P.O. Box 5694
Northern Arizona University
Flagstaff, AZ 86011, USA


Secretary and Accounting Officer:
Fourth year of
first 4-year term

Rodney V. Metcalf
University of Nevada - Las Vegas
Dept. of Geoscience
PO Box 454010
Las Vegas, NV 89154-4010, USA

+1-702-895-4064 (fax)

Past Chair:

Calvin G. Barnes
Texas Tech University

Science Building, Room 125
MS 1053
Lubbock, TX 79409-1053, USA


Management Board
(Includes the Section officers, the Section Chair for the preceding year, and two voting members of GSA, one selected by the Seismological Society of America and one by the Pacific Coast Section of the Paleontological Society to serve as councilors for one year.)
Voting shall take place at the annual business meeting of the section. Term of office begins at the conclusion of the Section's annual meeting, usually held in the spring.

Includes: USA - the states of Alaska, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington, and that part of Arizona south of latitude 35°N; Canada - the Province of British Columbia, the Yukon Territory, the Northwest Territories, and the Nunavut Territory; México - the Distrito Federal (Mexico City) and the states of Aguascalientes, Baja California, Baja California Sur, Chiapas, Colima, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, México State, Michoacán, Morelos, Nayarit, Oaxaca, Puebla, Querétaro, San Luis Potosi, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tlaxcala, and Zacatecas.

5,560 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2012.