Outstanding Earth Science Teacher Awards

Visit NAGT for more
on the OEST Award.

The National Association of Geoscience Teachers (NAGT) Outstanding Earth Science Teacher (OEST) Awards are administered by the Geological Society of America (GSA).

This annual award recognizes excellence in earth-science teaching at the pre-college level. GSA awards the section recipients US$500 in travel money to attend a GSA meeting, US$500 for classroom supplies, and complimentary membership in GSA for three years. State winners receive a one-year GSA complimentary membership.

2015 Award Recipients

Section Winners

  • Central Section
    Michele Svoboda
    Mill Creek Middle School
    Comstock Park, MI
  • Eastern Section
    John Russell
    Columbia Secondary School
    New York, NY
  • Far Western Section
    Ryan Hollister
    Turlock High School
    Turlock, CA
  • New England Section
    Rodney Ward
    Christa McAuliffe Charter School
    Framingham, MA
  • Central Section
    Ann Anderson
    Belle Fourche Middle School
    Belle Fourche, SD
  • Pacific Northwest Section
    Andrew Bagley
    Shorewood High School
    Shoreline, WA
  • Southeastern Section
    Susan Oltman
    Kittredge Magnet School
    Atlanta, GA
  • Southwest Section
    Rob Reisener
    Cactus Shadows High School
    Cave Creek, AZ

State Winners

  • Alabama
    Michelle Peterson
    Council Traditional School
    Mobile, AL
  • Florida
    Christine Danger
    Hillsborough County Public Schools
    Tampa, FL
  • Georgia
    Susan Oltman
    Kittredge Magnet School
    Atlanta, GA
  • Idaho
    Ken Berger
    Moscow High School
  • Illinois
    Joe Schoen
    Geneva High School
    Geneva, IL
  • Indiana
    Heather A. Hall
    Rensselaer Central Middle School
    Rensselaer, IN
  • Iowa
    Brandon Fritz
    Williamsburg High School
    Williamsburg, IA
  • Louisiana
    Lisa Swenson
    Isidore Newman School
    New Orleans, LA
  • New York
    Ken Abbott
    Grand Avenue Middle School
    Bellmore, NY
  • North Carolina
    Rebekah Fuerst
    Parkwood Middle School
    Monroe, NC
  • Ohio
    Beth A. Holmes
    Etna Elementary
    Pataskala, OH
  • Oregon
    Christopher R. Carlton
    Nyssa Middle School
    Nyssa, OR
  • Pennsylvania
    Blake Colaianne
    Dallastown Area High School
    Dallastown, PA
  • South Carolina
    Jennifer Bowling Pitman
    Anderson Mill Elementary
    Moore, SC
  • Wisconsin
    Adam J. Keeton
    North High School
    Eau Claire, WI