Minority Student Scholarship Program

The Minority Student Scholarship Program provides $1,500 to one student at an accredited university or college in each of the six GSA Sections as nominated by a GSA Professional Member. The funds are to be used to purchase text books, pay college fees, or attend GSA field trips or conferences.

In addition to the cash award, a complimentary GSA student membership for 2017 will be granted. Meeting registration for this year’s GSA Annual Meeting in Denver, CO from 25-28 September 2016, will also be provided where a student awards reception will be held.


Nomination Deadline: 10 June 2016
Please email form to: awards@geosociety.org


Student Requirements for Nomination

  • Be a U.S. citizen and a member of a minority group;
  • Has taken at least two (2) introductory geoscience courses;
  • Be enrolled in additional geoscience courses in the upcoming academic year; and
  • Be a current undergraduate student member of GSA.

Nomination Responsibilities and Timeline

  • Nominator must be a GSA Professional Member (1 nomination per member)
  • Confirm with the student that he/she is a member of a minority group.
  • Verify that the student has completed two introductory geoscience courses and is enrolled in geosciences classes for the upcoming academic year.
  • Complete and return the nomination form above via email to awards@geosociety.org no later than 10 June 2016.
  • Nominations will be forwarded to the GSA Diversity in the Geosciences Committee for review.
  • All awards will be announced by the end of July 2017.

2015 Awardees

  • Cordilleran Section:
    Diamond Tachera
    University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • North-Central Section:
    Detaya Johnson
    University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • Northeastern Section:
    Stephanie Sang
    Cornell University/University of Bristol
  • Rocky Mountain Section:
    Ida Clarke
    Black Hills State University
  • South-Central Section:
    Justin Brundin
    Tarleton State University
  • Southeastern Section:
    Eric Hanna
    Austin Peay State University


Please contact:
Heather Clark
Nominations due 10 June 2016.