GSA Honorary Fellow Award

The GSA Honorary Fellow Award is presented to an international geoscientist who has distinguished him- or herself in geoscience investigations, promoting environmental awareness, linking science and society, providing notable service to implementing public policy in natural resource managements, or otherwise making outstanding contributions to science. The program was established by the GSA Council in 1909, and since then, except during a few war years, one or more Honorary Fellows have been elected annually.  The Council of the Society encourages the membership to submit names of qualified candidates for this honor. In preparing a nomination, it is imperative that the original research and scientific advances of the candidate be stressed.

Deadline for Honorary Fellow Nominations: 1 Feb.

Current Recipients

Augusto Neri

Augusto Neri
Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia

Augusto Neri received his Master’s degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Pisa and his PhD from the Illinois Institute of Technology of Chicago. Since 2003 he has been the Research Director in physical volcanology at the Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia (INGV), Italy, and full professor of Volcanology and Earth Physics since 2014. He has been Director of the Volcanoes Department of INGV since 2016.

Neri's scientific career has been focused on the development and application of original multiphase flow models of volcanic processes and phenomena, particularly pyroclastic density currents, volcanic plumes, ash dispersal and deposition and conduit flow. Neri has also contributed to the quantitative assessment of volcanic hazards and risks at Italian and foreign volcanoes such as Vesuvio, Campi Flegrei, Etna, Mt. St. Helens, Soufriere Hills of Montserrat, Eyjafjallajökull, and Santorini, La Soufriere of Guadeloupe.

He is author of more than 90 scientific papers and has been the PI of many international and national projects in these fields. In 2017 he was awarded the Sergey Soloviev Medal of EGU for his pioneering research in modelling volcanic processes and his effort worldwide to mitigate explosive eruption risks.

Zvi Garfunkel

Zvi Garfunkel
Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Zvi Garfunkel was born in Kaunas, Lithuania, in 1938. He survived the Holocaust and immigrated to Israel in 1948. He is married and has one daughter.

Garfunkel earned a Ph.D. in geology in 1970 from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Since 1972, he has been a member of the faculty of the Institute of Earth Sciences there (full professor in 1986; emeritus since 2007). From 1988 to 2007, he served as the R. Kravis Chair in geology. He also served as president of the Geological Society of Israel. He was member of the academic board of Azrieli, the Jerusalem College of Engineering, from 2000 to 2006. In 2006, Garfunkel was awarded the EMET prize for Science, Art, and Culture, which was bestowed upon him by the Prime Minister of Israel.

Garfunkel’s research dealt with major geologic, mainly tectonic and geodynamic, processes. He contributed to the early study of the retreat of subducted slabs (roll-back or retrograde subduction) and its importance for mantle circulation. Most of his work focused on processes that shaped the Middle East and adjacent basins, and he has been first author or co-author on more than 100 refereed papers.

Recent Past Recipients
2016 Bor-Ming Jahn Taiwan
2015 Manfred Strecker Universität Potsdam Germany
Brian Fred Windley University of Leicester United Kingdom
2014 Shigenori Maruyama Tokyo Institute of Technology Japan
2013 Shuwen Dong Chinese Academy of Geological Sciences China
[ all past recipients ]

Distinguished Career Award

Current Recipient
No award for 2017
Deadline: 1 March

The Distinguished Career Award will be given to a geologist who has made numerous, distinguished, and significant contributions that have clearly advanced the international geological sciences through service and or scientific activities. The award will consist of a plaque inscribed with the name of the recipient, the name of the award, the name of the Section, and the emblem of The Geological Society of America. The award will be presented at GSA International's annual business meeting.

Past Recipients
2017 No award given
2016 No award given
2015 No award given
2014 Farouk El-Baz Boston University citation/response
2013 B. Clark Burchfiel Massachusetts Institute of Technology citation/response
2010 W. Gary Ernst Stanford University (emeritus) citation/response
2009 Yildirim Dilek The Miami University citation/response
2008 Rolf Emmermann GeoForschungsZentrum, Potsdam, Germany citation/response
2007 Alan Gilbert Smith Cambridge University citation/response
2006 Eldridge M. Moores University of California, Davis citation/response
2003 John A. Reinemund USGS Chief of Internation Programs citation/response

Farouk El-Baz Student Research Grants

El-Baz Grant
Application Form

Research Grant Awards from the GSA International Interdisciplinary Interest Group (IIG)
This grant is to encourage and support desert studies by students world-wide either in their senior year of their undergraduate studies, or at the Masters or Ph.D. level. 

2017 Recipients

  • Karem Abdelmohsen, Western Michigan University
    “How do Aquifers Respond to Wet and Dry Periods? A Case Study from the Nubian Aquifer.”
  • Jennifer Haskell, University of California, Davis
    “Understanding Mosaic Carbon Storage in Drylands to Inform Climate Models Under Desertification Regimes.”