GSA home

Log In | GSA Community | GSA Store | Join GSA | Donate | Contact Us

GSA home

| GSA Community | GSA Store | Donate | Contact Us

About GSA

Career Resources

Connected Community

Divisions &
Associated Societies

Education & Outreach

GSA Foundation

GSA International




Public Policy



Find Your Science at GSA
SE Home
Student Grants
Southeastern Section

About the Southeastern Section

The Southeastern Section was established in December 1947, but did not hold its first annual meeting until 1952. The GSA Foundation generously supports the activities of the section and we ask that you, in turn, support the GSA Foundation. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2016-2017 Section Officers

Terms: Chair–1 year, Vice-Chair–1 year, Secretary-Treasurer–1 year


Robert J. Tracy
Virginia Tech Geosciences
4044 Derring Hall (0420).
Blacksburg, VA 24061, USA



Jonathan W. Mies
Univ. of Tennessee - Chattanooga
Dept. of Physics Geology & Astronomy
615 McCallie Ave.
Chattanooga, TN 37403-2598 , USA



David Spears
State Geologist

Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy

Division of Geology and Mineral Resources

900 Natural Resources Drive, Suite 500

Charlottesville, VA 22903, USA


elected annually

Blair R. Tormey
Western Carolina University
Dept. of Geosciences & Natural Resources
Cullowhee, NC 28723, USA


Management Board
The management board shall be composed of the officers, the officers-elect, and the past officers of the section. Council member(s) residing within the Section boundaries shall be ex officio members. The chairs of the section committees (currently education, geology and public policy, liaison, and student support) shall be voting ex officio members. The vice-chair and secretary-treasurer-elect shall become members of the management board one week prior to the annual meeting start date. The chair-elect shall become a voting member of the management board one year prior to taking the office of chair, and the retiring officers shall continue as members of the management board until one week after the beginning of the next year's annual meeting.

Past Chair:

Elizabeth A. McClellan
Radford University
Dept. of Geology
PO Box 6939, Reed Hall 101
Radford, VA 24142 , USA



Venkataraman Lakshmi
University of South Carolina
Earth and Ocean Sciences
701 Sumter St
Columbia, SC 29208-3402



Sarah Morgenthaler
University of Tennessee - Chattanooga

GSA Councilors:

Chuck Bailey

3,284 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2015.

The SE Section has (or has representatives on) the following committees:
Student Support Committee, Program Committee, Nominating Committee, Education Committee, Geology and Public Policy Committee, Campus Liaison Committee


In the United States:

The states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

In Mexico:

The states of Campeche, Quintana Roo, and Yucatán.

*Note: Section boundaries were revised 24 April 2004 by GSA Council to add Puerto Rico. The affiliation of the state of Louisiana changed from the Southeastern Section to the South-Central Section in 1997.