GSA home

Log In | GSA Community | GSA Store | Join GSA | Donate | Contact Us

GSA home

| GSA Community | GSA Store | Donate | Contact Us

About GSA

Career Resources

Connected Community

Divisions &
Associated Societies

Education & Outreach

GSA Foundation

GSA International




Public Policy



Find Your Science at GSA
SC Home
Research & Travel Grants
South-Central Section

About the South-Central Section

The South-Central Section was established by the Council of the Geological Society of America in 1966. Please explore the links at right and below to learn more about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2016-2017 Section Officers

3 Members — Terms: Chair – 1 year, Vice-Chair – 1 year, Secretary-Treasurer – 3 years


Benjamin E. Surpless
Trinity University
Geosciences MMS 244
1 Trinity Pl
San Antonio, TX 78212-4674 , USA


Vice Chair:

Jeffrey B. Connelly
University of Arkansas
Dept. of Earth Sciences
2801 S University Ave
Little Rock, AR 72204-1099 , USA


First year of a
second term

Wm. Jay Sims
University of Arkansas-Little Rock
Dept. of Earth Science
2801 S. University Ave.
302 Fribourgh Hall
Little Rock, AR 72204-1099, USA

+1-501-371-7613 (direct)
+1-501-569-3271 (fax)

Management Board
Includes the section officers, officers-elect, and a sufficient number of members-at-large to ensure that each state in the Section is represented on the board. The officers-elect shall become members of the board upon their election and the retiring officers shall continue as members until one week after the beginning of the next year's meeting. Members of the Council of the Society having their membership in the Section are voting members of the section board.

Past Chair:

Peter D. Clift
Louisiana State University
Dept. of Geology & Geophysics
E235 Howe-Russell-Kniffen
Geoscience C
Baton Rouge, LA 70803-0001, USA



Stephen Boss, Todd Halihan, Antony (Tony) N. Giles, Jonathan B. Sumrall, Antonio Cardona, Matthew F. Kirk

GSA Councilors:

Elizabeth Catlos

2,762 voting members of the Section as of 31 December 2015.


In the United States:

The states of Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana*, Oklahoma, and Texas.

In Mexico:

The states of Coahuila, Nuevo León, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, and Veracruz.

*Note: In 1997, Louisiana's affiliation changed from the Southeastern to the South-Central Section.