GSA home

Log In | GSA Community | GSA Store | Join GSA | Donate | Contact Us

GSA home

| GSA Community | GSA Store | Donate | Contact Us

About GSA

Career Resources

Connected Community

Divisions &
Associated Societies

Education & Outreach

GSA Foundation

GSA International




Public Policy



Find Your Science at GSA
Cordilleran Home
Cordilleran Section

About the Cordilleran Section

The Cordilleran Section is the oldest of GSA's sections. It was formally approved on 26 August 1901, when the Society itself was only 13 years old. The first organizational meeting of the Section, held in Berkeley in 1899, included the presentation of 11 scientific papers. Please explore the links at right to learn about the benefits we offer our Section members.

2014-2015 Section Officers

Terms:  Chair—1 year;   Vice-Chair— 1 year;   Secretary—4 years


Diane Clemens-Knott
Dept. of Geological Science
California State University, Fullerton
McCarthy Hall 264-B
P.O. Box 6850
Fullerton, CA 92834-6850, USA



Andrew Barth
Dept. of Geology
Indiana University-Purdue University
723 West Michigan Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202-5132, USA


Secretary and
Accounting Officer:

Second year of
second 4-year term

Rodney V. Metcalf
Dept. of Geoscience
University of Nevada - Las Vegas
PO Box 454010
Las Vegas, NV 89154-4010, USA

+1-702-895-4064 (fax)

Past Chair:

Paul J. Umhoefer
School of Earth Sciences & Environmental Sustainability
Northern Arizona University
123 Frier Hall, 602 S. Humpreys
P.O. Box 5694
Flagstaff, AZ 86011, USA



In the United States:

The states of Alaska, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, and that part of Arizona south of 35 degrees North Latitude.

In Canada:

The Province of British Columbia, the Yukon Territory, the Northwest Territories, and the Nunavut Territory.

In Mexico:

The Distrito Federal and the states of Aguascalientes, Baja California, Baja California Sur, Chiapas, Colima, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, México State, Michoacán, Morelos, Nayarit, Oaxaca, Puebla, Querétaro, San Luis Potosi, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tlaxcala, and Zacatecas.