GSA home

Log In | GSA Community | GSA Store | Join GSA | Donate | Contact Us

GSA home

| GSA Community | GSA Store | Donate | Contact Us

About GSA

Connected Community

Divisions &
Associated Societies

Education & Outreach

GSA Foundation




Public Policy


Resources & Jobs


Find Your Science at GSA

Specialized Research Grants

Recipients of special named awards are selected by the Committee on Research Grants from applicants to the graduate student research grants program. The committee considers all qualified applicants when selecting recipients for special awards.

The Marland Pratt Billings and Katharine Fowler-Billings Research Award encourages and promotes geological field work and related research in New England and adjacent regions.

The Gretchen L. Blechschmidt Award supports research by women interested in achieving a Ph.D. in the geological sciences and a career in academic research, especially in the fields of biostratigraphy and/or paleoceanography, and who have an interest in sequence stratigraphy analysis, particularly in conjunction with research into deep-sea sedimentology.

The aim of the John T. Dillon Alaska Research Award is to support research that addresses earth science problems particular to Alaska, especially field-based studies dealing with the structural and tectonic development, and those that include some aspect of geochronology (either paleontologic or radiometric) to provide new age control for significant rock units in Alaska.

The Diversity Award awards one minority recipient for overall quality of the research.

The Robert D. Hatcher Research Award supports field-based research and geologic mapping through an annual award to an outstanding graduate student in the earth sciences to conduct research for that studentís masterís thesis of Ph.D. dissertation. Preference may be given to students working in the Appalachian orogeny broadly construed, but is not restricted to this region.

The John W. Hess Research Grant in Karst Research Studies supports student research involving any aspect of cave and karst studies aimed at providing improved understanding of how caves and karst work, including how these resources can be better managed.

The Roscoe G. Jackson II Award is given to one recipient per year in the field of sedimentology.

The Lipman Research Award is to promote and support graduate research in volcanology and petrology.

The John Montagne Fund is awarded annually in support of research in the field of quaternary/geomorphology.

The Bruce L. "Biff" Reed Award is for graduate students pursuing studies in the tectonic and magmatic evolution of Alaska and also can fund other geologic research.

The Charles A. & June R.P. Ross Research Fund is awarded to support research projects for graduate students, post-graduate students, and post-doctorate researchers in the fields of biostratigraphy (including, but not limited to, fossil age dating and the study of evolutionary faunal successions), stratigraphy and stratigraphic correlation, paleogeography and paleobiogeography, interpreting past environments of deposition and their biological significance, and the integration of these research areas into better global understanding of (1) past plate motions (plate tectonics and sea-floor spreading), (2) past sea-level events, including their identification and ages, and/or (3) climate changes and effects of those climate changes on the earth's inhabitants through geologic time. There should be, over time, a balance of money among the awards across these various subject sub-field categories depending on the merit of the annual project proposals.

The Alexander Sisson Award supports research for students pursuing studies in Alaska and the Caribbean.

The Parke D. Snavely, Jr., Cascadia Research Award Fund provides support for field-oriented graduate student research that contributes to the understanding of the geologic processes and history of the Pacific Northwest convergent margin, or to the evaluation of its hazard or resource potential.

The Harold T. Stearns Fellowship Award is awarded annually in support of research on one or more aspects of the geology of Pacific Islands and of the circum-Pacific region.

The Alexander & Geraldine Wanek Fund is awarded annually to support research project dealing with coal and petroleum resources, mapping, and engineering geology, marine resources, petroleum economics, appraisal, and evaluation, and the geology of phosphate resources.

The Lauren A. Wright & Bennie W. Troxel Student Research Fund supports graduate students in Masters or Ph.D. programs conducting field-based research (1) in the region broadly centered on Death Valley National Park or (2) in the western and southern Basin and Range Tectonic Province. This research grant is associated with the Structure and Techtonics division.